WittyLeaks

I got a message today on my Facebook about something I posted on my blog.   It was the WordPress people informing me that some readers out there thought my recent post was “pretty awesome.”    But what does “awesome” mean?  At one time, “awesome” described excellence, greatness, and brilliance.  Now?  I remember holding a door for someone not too long ago.  The millennial quickened his step and said, “Awesome.  Thanks.”    A thanks would have been enough.  But was it really “awesome?’   No.   Awesome should be reserved for the Grand Canyon and the Statue of Liberty and Gina Lollobrigida.   Not for holding the door for someone.   Although I am pleased that something I wrote was deemed “awesome,” I’m realistic enough to know it was probably just genius.

 

Thursday will be the day I buy my Halloween candy this year.   I figure if I wait for the weekend the shelves will be empty.    Buy it last weekend and I’ll have eaten half by Monday.  When is it safe for you to buy your Halloween candy?   Can you buy it a week ahead of time?    And do you have two bowls at the ready on Halloween like I do?    The good candy is for the excitable kids who make an effort in their Halloween prep.  My other bowl of candy is for the teens whose costume is their father’s flannel shirt and a sideways baseball cap.   When I’m too tired to keep getting up to hand out treats, I put out an empty bowl with a sign, “Take One.”   I’ll leave some torn candy wrappers lying on the stoop to lend authenticity.   Seems to work.  Never been egged.

 

Cubs/Indians World Series.  The whole world outside of Cleveland is rooting for the Cubs.   I like the Cubs and love Wrigley but since the Cub bandwagon is beyond full, I think I’m going to go with the Cleveland Indians.   Plus, there’s the Indians mascot, Chief Wahoo.   I love it.  And then I hate it.   And then I love it again.  And back and forth.   Many find it terribly insensitive and an awful caricature.   But I love its mid-century modern exaggeration.  And the next day I find it tacky and thoughtless.   I think I’m going to start buying up Chief Wahoo memorabilia because I can’t see him being around much longer.

 

What I’m looking forward to in this World Series is the Bob Costas analysis of the greatest catch in World Series history; the San Francisco Giants Willie Mays over-the-head, back to home plate, running catch of Cleveland Indians Vic Wertz long smash to centerfield in 1954.    It was probably from the Ken Burns documentary masterpiece where Costas reveled over the amazing Mays.    Costas gushed, and it has since been repeated by many, how Willie Mays not only made the great catch, but also “had the presence of mind to turn and throw it home” to keep the baserunners from advancing more than one base.  The guy from first didn’t tag up.   The guy on second may have been able to tag up two bases since the ball was hit to the deepest part of the Polo Grounds.   Anyway, I always wanted to know what Bob Costas expected Willie Mays to do after he made the catch.   His wide-eyed wonder of Willie having the “presence of mind” escapes me.  What was Willie Mays supposed to do?   So that’s what I’ll be doing during this World Series; the replay of “The Catch,” and someone bringing up Willie Mays’ “presence of mind.”

 

Cleveland Indians in 5.

 

Watch for my upcoming story of when my mother dressed me as a member of the Klan one Halloween.

One comment

  1. Chief Wahoo · October 26

    Awesome dude!

    Like

Leave a Reply

