WEDNESDAY OCTOBER 27, 2015

I’m back.   You’re not getting rid of me that easily.

 

Good luck to the Mets tonight and throughout the Series.   As a Yankee fan, I always kinda rooted against the Mets.  It’s not that I hated them, but their losing made the sports radio so much more entertaining.   The wailing and moaning and angry angst from its fans made for great fun.  And the Mets usually have a player or two who rub me the wrong way, but not this team.   That said, I’m picking the Royals in 6.

 

The Daniel Murphy steal of third against the Dodgers reminded me of the Derek Jeter flip against the Oakland A’s in the playoffs years ago.   What are you doing when no one is looking?   Murphy and Jeter were looking to do something when the action was elsewhere.

 

With no Late Show with David Letterman, the annual New Halloween Costumes segment is no more.   What costumes do you think we’d create if we were doing a show this year?

Trump’s hair would likely be one.

And maybe a belt wrapped around a kid 37 times — Chris Christie’s belt.

What you got?   Last year, 2014:

  1. MEN’S SHOE BUFFER
  2. TINA FEY AND AMY POEHLER
  3. THE RAISIN THAT’S BEEN UNDER THE STOVE FOR SEVERAL YEARS
  4. CHUCK TODD’S GOATEE
  5. ARBY’S MEAT MOUNTAIN SANDWICH
  6. AN ENDLESSLY RECALCULATING GPS DEVICE
  7. A CAN OF COMPRESSED AIR

 

Denise and I had to sell our New York City apartment we’ve been subletting for the past 18 years.    We were only allowed to sublet for two, so we really can’t complain.   In order not to get killed in taxes, we had to buy another investment property within 6 months.  So we did . . . in Neptune, New Jersey.   I was at the house the other day soon after the purchase doing what I could to get the foreclosed property in shape.  I can do just about everything that doesn’t include water or electricity.   I leave that for the people with a license.  The outside of the house has to be painted and I’ll be leaving that to the professionals as well.   I’ll be doing interior painting, pulling up carpet, putting down carpet, landscaping, cleaning, yanking tacks and staples out of the hardwood floors, etc. etc. etc.    So I was outside trimming the hedges and a neighbor stops by and introduces himself.  He then asks if I knew the history of the house.   “Ooooh, good,” I think, “a good murder story!”    But no, it had nothing to do with a murder.   The guy says, “The bass player for Bruce Springsteen’s band used to live here.”   I quickly go through my mental rolodex of the E Street Band and wonder, “Garry Tallent?”   The guy says that’s the guy, and Garry and his friends used to rehearse in the garage.   He wasn’t sure if it was the E Street Band who played in the garage, but there was a good chance that Johnny Lyons of Southside Johnny may have been part of the group.   How cool is that?  The guy continues, “My wife lived here her whole life and she says they were awful.”

 

The job search has slowed a bit as I’m working fulltime at the house to get it up to renting condition.   I had one 30-minute interview over the phone that went really well.   And that was it.  No follow up, no e-mail, no yes or no.   I’ve been told by many that that’s the way it goes now.   I have something else lined up that seems promising but that’s later this year/early next year.  In the meantime I’ve been submitting to comedywire.com to kill time.  And speaking of time, I thought I would have so much of it while I’m . . . knock on wood . . . “in between jobs.”    I don’t have a hammock, but if I did I would have no time to use it.

 

This Mets run reminds me a bit of 1969.   Totally unexpected, with some great interesting stories along the way.   There was a part of me that was rooting for the Cubs in the Playoffs, but maybe next year.  Next week, I’ll tell you about the Cubs missing out of the 1984 World Series and how that would have changed television’s influence on sporting events forever.

 

With my only interest in life being to be entertained, I’m rooting for a Trump/Hillary election battle.   Bernie would be fun, but I think Trump against Hillary would create better entertainment.    For the Presidential Debate, Bello Nock could be the ringleader.

 

Daniel Murphy is on such a hot streak, last Sunday he actually found a parking space in front of his Manhattan apartment.

 

If the World Series goes 7 games, it may overlap into Spring Training.

 

Surprise me in your will.

5 comments

  1. Lois · October 27, 2015

    Glad you are back !

    Like

  2. Chad Riden · October 27, 2015

    No surprises: In my will, I’m leaving you my extensive collection of Hermey the elf toys.

    Like

  3. Connie Bryant · October 28, 2015

    I was rooting for the Cubs too. So sad they didn’t go all the way. I love the story on your new rental. Way too cool. Good luck with the interviews. You are bound to get something soon!

    Like

  4. Shane · October 30, 2015

    costume idea, Rat pizza delivery guy. or possible new job.

    Like

  5. Jim C. · October 31, 2015

    Colbert had a trick-or-treat segment with a few kids Friday night, but it turned into a plug for a video game.

    Like

Leave a Reply

