WAHOOTWO – AUGUST 29, 2015

WAHOOTWO – AUGUST 29, 2015

 

The Late Show with Stephen Colbert – I’m looking forward to the grand opening on September 8th.   I’m expecting good things.   I see that George Clooney and Jeb Bush are guests on the first show, followed by Tesla Motors CEO Elon Musk, Uber CEO Travis Kalanick, and author Stephen King later in the week.   It appears Colbert wants his Late Show to be the late night talk show for adults; the smart person’s talk show.  I think it’s a good idea and he’s sharp enough to provide both information and entertainment.   It’s what I call Enter-mation TV.   And I’m very interested in seeing the new theater.  But what I’m most interested in is seeing how the first show has enough time for both Clooney AND Jeb Bush.   Add that to all the first show hoopla, introductions, and a tour of the place and I imagine it’ll be pretty tight.  Yeah, I watch the late night talk shows with a different eye than I did 20 years ago.

Good luck to Mr. Colbert and the entire Late Show staff.  Let me know if you ever need someone to unjam the copier.   Plus, it’s football season.  Ask around about my famous football pool.  And I don’t even take a cut!

 

Fans of the New York football Giants are rightfully concerned with their team.  The offense is suffering pre-season sputter and the defense offers opponent-optimism for the upcoming season.  But what worries me most is the seepage of non-Giant behavior on the field, the “Look At Me, Everyone” (L.A.M.E.) display by the Giant players after a first down or a tackle.  Very un-Giant-like, but with so many injuries they are desperate for players and I guess Coach Coughlin has to put up with it.  Plus, I’m not sure but I think quarterbacking the Giants these days is Bad Comedian Eli Manning.

 

What I like best about baseball brawls is watching the relief pitchers “run” in from the bullpen hoping it’s over by the time they get there.

 

40 years ago Tuesday, August 25, 1975, Bruce Springsteen released his iconic “Born To Run” album.   It was recorded at 914 Sound Studios in Blauvelt, New York.  The “914” was the area code for Blauvelt at the time.  I grew up not too far from Blauvelt and now live less than a mile away.   And how is the world famous 914 Sound Studios doing now?  It’s an auto spa.   It’s the Blauvelt Auto Spa.  Sad.  On the bright side, it could probably do something with Bruce’s burned out Chevrolet.

 

Hate to say it but this is how I expected the Yankees to play all year, as in not good.  I’ll be surprised if they even make the wildcard.  I’m hoping the Yankee/Met series in the middle of September means something to both teams.   I’m planning a big outdoor theater-showing in the driveway of the Friday September 18th 7:00 PM game for the neighborhood.   If I learn how to post photos by then, I will.

2 comments

  1. Jim C. · August 29, 2015

    I think you meant to say author Stephen King.

    Like

  2. Shane · August 30, 2015

    Jays have 4 away games vs Yankees and 3 home games left. I’m taking nothing for granted. Once upon a time the Jays landed David Cone between trade deadlines. Any thing can happen, and usually does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

