WAHOOTWO – JULY 31, 2015

WAHOOTWO – JULY 31, 2015

 

I’m listening to the radio a lot these days when I’m out looking for a job.   “Out looking for a job” today means you’re sending out resumes and cover letters through the internets.    Unfortunately, I have no idea if I’m doing it right.  You press the “SEND” button and  . . . . and that’s it.   Who gets it? Where does it go?  Does anybody even see it?   It’s an uneasy feeling.   Then I go have a snack. 

But back to listening to the radio . . . . .

Any radio Program Directors out there?   I have a bit of advice.   I like listening to the radio, usually sports-talk nonsense.   There are a few stations on the dial I can go to for my listening pleasure.  BUT . . . . but I can’t turn off YOUR station fast enough when I hear that jingle . . . the opening cymbals-playing of . . .  the Kars For Kids commercial!  And I’m not the only one who clicks off.  Many are just like me.  We can’t take it anymore.   I hope Kars For Kids is paying you a lot of money because you are losing lots of listeners whenever it comes on.  And if I ever get one of those “radio diaries” to measure radio listenership, I’ll make it a point to mention that I do not listen to YOUR radio station.

Oh, and if I ever decide to get rid of my car, I’ll burn it in an alley before I give it to Kars For Kids.

And the new Lincoln commercial with the kid who can’t decide on what ice cream to get is starting to get on my nerves.

 

Why did the Yankees place pitcher Michael Pineda on the 15-day disabled list the day before the trading deadline?   It just drove up the price for a trade for a pitcher.   Shouldn’t the Yankees have announced Pineda was missing a start due to the flu or something and then place him on the DL Friday afternoon?

 

I was flipping the TV channels the other day and stopped on “Let’s Make A Deal,” the old one with Monty Hall.   I never really appreciated how great Monty was at “Let’s Make A Deal.”    He was phenomenal.    And all this time I thought the greatest game show host was Wink Martindale.

 

Some guy on Twitter is suing Conan for stealing his tweet jokes.    I can understand his ire.   I once wrote a hilarious bit called, “In The Year 1999” and a year later Conan stole it.

 

In defense of Walter Palmer, he did give away free toothbrushes to his patients.

 

 

Is anybody listening out there?  Does anyone out there consider what they are hearing, what they are reading?

I read this from the New York Police Department’s Chief of Transit Bureau on how to beat the heat: “Stay hydrated, and more importantly, stay cool.”  

Citizen: “Chief, I’m thirsty . . .  I’m hot . . . what should I do?”

Chief Fox: “Stay hydrated, and more importantly, stay cool.”  

If you took the time to notice, I bet you’re getting the same sage advice from your officials.  They are so much smarter than us.

 

It gets worse for New York Jets DE Sheldon Richardson. It’s now being reported he was fleeing police at 143 mph on deflated tires.

 

How often does a blue moon occur anyway?

 

About the guy who is accusing Conan of stealing his jokes off the Twitter . . . . I would bet that every joke told tonight on any of the talk shows has already been posted somewhere.    Sheldon Richardson driving on deflated tires joke above . . .  I just Googled it.   Damn.   Been told.  It’s old.  Thought I was first.

 

To see if there are any reader comments, click on the WahooTwo on top and then scan to the bottom.

 

The WahooTwo  . . where the first draft is the final draft.

 

Surprise me in your will.

8 comments

  1. Tom C. · July 31, 2015

    Why are we giving cars to these kids in the first place?

    Like

  2. Helen Read · July 31, 2015

    Blue Moons are not all that rare. They happen about once every 2 – 3 years.

    Like

  3. Marilyn · July 31, 2015

    While not on radio (maybe it is) there is a Hyundai TV commercial that implies that the customers are swearing because the deals are so great. They’re like “Holy beep” and djoy. It makes me so angry. What a desperate way to try to get attention.

    Like

  4. Jim Seidel · July 31, 2015

    Funny stuff now getta job

    Like

  5. Michael · July 31, 2015

    Like that old game show: “I can name that Kars for Kids ad and change the channel in….one note”

    Like

  6. mlblogsbluesurge · August 1, 2015

    A blue moon is a second full moon in a calendar month. They’re much more frequent than you’d think.

    Like

  7. Jim C. · August 2, 2015

    What is… once in a blue moon?

    I think I was near your old neighborhood this weekend. Drove by the Ramapo service area on the Thruway.

    Like

  8. K. Steavenson · August 2, 2015

    What is the moon called the day after its Blue? That was the question I pondered as I drove home on dark highways yesterday well-lit by the helpful Day-Old Blue Moon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

