WAHOOTWO – June 27, 2015

OK, OK, I get it.  We’re not coming back.
 
I can’t believe this has escaped me for this long.   Numbers are important to me and I can always make connections through math.   And why hasn’t anyone else noticed this?   
Dave Letterman announced his retirement on April 3, 2014.   He came to this decision the day before on April 2, 2014.    Why is this important?  How does this connect to anything?  Dave decided to retire on 4/2/14.  And what was the final Late Show number?  That’s right . . . . 4214!
Have at it, AFL Newsgroup!
 
For years I prepared the scriptcover for the daily Late Show scripts.   The cover would be current events with a comical twist.   I would cut out a photo from the newspaper or from the computer and “photoshop” something else onto the photo using scissors and tape.   I would then include a caption.    I was using paper, scissors, tape instead of photoshopping mainly because I didn’t know how to photoshop.   I always took pride when others learned the scriptcover wasn’t computer generated, but created by use of my 4th grade Arts & Crafts talent.   Yes, 4th grade.   For grades 1 through 3, I went to catholic school.   We didn’t have Arts & Crafts.   We had catechism.    
 
 
New York Knicks fans are hating their team’s draft pick of 19-year-old Latvian Kristaps Porzingis.   Fans hate it even though no one has ever seen him play.   But since it’s the Knicks, they know the pick will end up being a disaster.  
 
I’ve been away from the Late Show for 5 weeks now.   The 5 weeks went very fast, and the next five weeks will likely go faster than that, and every five weeks following even faster.   And what have I done?   I’ve been busy, but I’ve done just about nothing.   I feel as if I’m turning into a retired senior citizen.      Today I bought lottery tickets, imagining to win and leaving the millions to my children.   And I think Dominique and Danielle are imagining the same.
 
If my resume and job search don’t work out, I’m thinking of standing on a street corner with a sign, “Will work for money.”

 

3 comments

  1. pfleet · June 27, 2015

    He’s back – and with *sports*!
    “I feel as if I’m turning into a retired senior citizen.” HEY! I’m sittin’ right here! You should be so lucky, you young whippersnapper.

    Like

  2. Roy Currlin · June 27, 2015

    In honor of the 35th anniversary of he first “David Letterman Show,” (6/23/80-10/24/80) I just watched the last morning telecast. Great fun and hints of the greatness to come.

    Like

  3. James Langdell · June 28, 2015

    For decades I’ve needed to remind other technical writers that you don’t have to use a computer for EVERYTHING. There’s tasks that I see someone beating their head trying to do every step on a computer, which could be accomplished much more readily by writing some things down on a yellow legal pad, working out your revision there, and then typing your final version into another computer program.

    Like

Leave a Reply

