WAHOOTWO – June 17, 2015

I’m starting to feel as if Dave wasn’t kidding.

Resume is done. And now I wait, right? I wait for the job offers to roll in. But if it were only that easy. The worse part still lies ahead; the “Like Me, Like Me” game. I have to try to make a stranger to like me.
“Will you be my friend?”

Rachel Donezal identifying herself as black reminds me of the riddle: “If you call a tail a leg, how many legs would a dog have?”
The answer is four. Simply calling a tail a leg doesn’t make it a leg.

If Sarah Palin announced her candidacy for President, would John McCain endorse her? And if not, what was his reasoning for picking her to be his VP running mate?

This is progress? I was on my cellphone and tried to write down the message. Couldn’t do the “phone-hold between my ear and shoulder” maneuver without it dropping. Never a problem with my rotary. 30 years ago you could talk on the phone and write down a message at the same time. Now . . . nope. I thought technology was supposed to make life easier.

If we are going to get rid of the police stop and frisk, then we should also get rid of the DWI checkpoints.

2016 Presidential Race – Clinton vs. Bush. Ennui, fatigue, same-old same-old. Will there ever be a better time for a 3rd Party candidate?

It takes four years of college, and then your Masters, to be a teacher.
It takes four years of study to become a registered nurse.
How many years does it take to become an accountant? A lawyer? A dentist? And yet, a police officer is expected to show excellence after four months at the Academy. Would you let an accountant take care of your finances after four months in school? Would you let someone wire your house after 4 months in electrician school? Would you say “Ahhh” to a dentist after a semester in college? And yet we expect excellence from a police officer after four months of classroom study.

Fireworks for sale in New York State! They’re back! I used to have to go to Connecticut to buy my fireworks . . . to Connecticut at a K-Mart! Illegal in New York, but legal at a K-Mart in Connecticut. And now I hear we can buy these simple fireworks in New York! Legal again! And it’s about time! I would make the trip to Connecticut every year at this time and buy the sparklers for my kids and for the kids in the neighborhood. I would tell the parents that at least one of their kids will burn their fingers trying to pick up a hot sparkler after it went out. If they accepted the consequence, I would then give them some boxes. I would keep the bigger sparkling fireworks for myself and shoot them off on the 4th of July and after the Yankees won the World Series or the Giants won the Super Bowl or when the Knicks won a game. To me it was simple fun, but to some it was much too dangerous to be toyed with . . . even if they were available at a K-Mart 15 miles away.

In the next WahooTwo, I’m going to try to fit in “whilst” somewhere.

2 comments

  1. Tom · June 17, 2015

    Mike, it’s time to write that book. “Life in the Late Show Writer’s Room.”

    Like

  2. bhowle · June 18, 2015

    You should make Blue Öyster Cult’s “Burnin’ For You” the official McIntee Incendiary Device Theme Song for the Wahoo Gazette’s Fireworks Free-For-All during the high profile celebratory events. Charge $10 a pop for pics with Buck Dharma, same for little ME-262 and Godzilla key chains. Subsidize your down time, Mike.

    Like

Leave a Reply

